Remaining time:

Due to high demand, your chosen tickets can only be held for a limited time and then removed automatically.


     See the list of nominees of the Evening Standard Theatre Awards

    The Evening Standard’s theatre critic Henry Hitchings said: “It’s been a fantastic year for musicals, with memorable new writing making an impact in both the commercial and subsidised sectors, alongside a string of deft revivals. The National Theatre has had another strong year, and the general mood in London theatre has been reassuringly buoyant and robust, with starry openings balanced by a commitment to exploring topical issues. While it’s not all good news, and the full impact of funding cuts has yet to be felt, Londoners have an incredible range of choice that would be the envy of theatregoers in any other city.”


    Winners will be announced on November 20 at a ceremony held at the Savoy Hotel, hosted by Dame Edna Everage.

    Best Actor

    Bertie Carvel for Matilda The Musical (RSC Stratford & Cambridge Theatre)
    Benedict Cumberbatch for Frankenstein (National’s Olivier)
    Charles Edwards for Much Ado About Nothing (Shakespeare’s Globe)
    Jonny Lee Miller for Frankenstein (National’s Olivier)
    Best Actress
    Kristin Scott Thomas for Betrayal (Comedy)
    Sheridan Smith for Flare Path (Theatre Royal Haymarket)
    Samantha Spiro for Chicken Soup with Barley (Royal Court)
    Best Director
    Rob Ashford for Anna Christie (Donmar)
    Dominic Cooke for Chicken Soup with Barley (Royal Court)
    Edward Hall for Richard III & The Comedy of Errors (Propeller at Hampstead)
    Mike Leigh for Grief (National’s Cottesloe)
    The Charles Wintour Award for Most Promising Playwright
    EV Crowe for Kin (Royal Court)
    Vivienne Franzmann for Mogadishu (Lyric Hammersmith)
    Penelope Skinner for The Village Bike (Royal Court)
    Best Design
    Bunny Christie for Men Should Weep (National’s Lyttelton)
    Lizzie Clachan for Wastwater (Royal Court)
    Adam Cork for Sound designer of Anna Christie & King Lear (Donmar)
    Mark Tildesley for Frankenstein (National’s Olivier)
    The Milton Shulman Award for Outstanding Newcomer
    Phoebe Fox for her performances in As You Like It (Rose Kingston) and The Acid Test (Royal Court) & There Is A War (National’s Paintframe)
    Malachi Kirby for his performance in Mogadishu (Lyric, Hammersmith)
    Kyle Soller for his performances in The Glass Menagerie (Young Vic) & Government Inspector (Young Vic) & The Faith Machine (Royal Court)
    David Wilson Barnes for his performance in Becky Shaw (Almeida)
    Best Play
    The Heretic by Richard Bean (Royal Court)
    One Man, Two Guvnors by Richard Bean (National’s Lyttelton)
    Becky Shaw by Gina Gionfriddo (Almeida)
    Tribes by Nina Raine (Royal Court)
    The Ned Sherrin Award for Best Musical
    Betty Blue Eyes (Novello)
    London Road (National’s Cottesloe)
    Matilda the Musical (RSC Stratford & Cambridge Theatre)

    Related news

    The Light in the Piazza to premiere at London’s Southbank Centre next year

    Posted on | By Ephram Ryan

    The Light in the Piazza is making its way to the Royal Festival Hall, Southbank Centre&... Read more

    Original West End Kinky Boots stars Matt Henry and Killian Donnelly set to return

    Posted on | By Ephram Ryan

    Check out these vintage, high-heeled boots! Matt Henry and Killian Donnelly, who o... Read more

    Harold Pinter's Betrayal starring Tom Hiddleston to run at the Harold Pinter Theatre next spring

    Posted on | By Ephram Ryan

    Tom Hiddleston is set to star in a new production of Harold Pinter’s 1978 play, Betrayal, w... Read more

    Follow us for instant updates and special offers

    Sign up to our mailing list and be the first to hear about new West End shows and exclusive ticket discounts. We value your privacy. You can unsubscribe at any time. But we hope you won’t!